Flessenpost 11: Easter Madness – Girls Road Trip! - Reisverslag uit Port Stephens, Australië van Vera Somers - WaarBenJij.nu Flessenpost 11: Easter Madness – Girls Road Trip! - Reisverslag uit Port Stephens, Australië van Vera Somers - WaarBenJij.nu

Flessenpost 11: Easter Madness – Girls Road Trip!

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Vera

02 Juni 2018 | Australië, Port Stephens

“Now I am gonna tell my momma, that I am a traveler. I am gonna follow the sun”

That song was the theme song of our amazing Easter Trip with the girls to Port Stephens. Dilara introduced us to it explaining how whenever she was unsure about moving to Australia that song was her motivation and it couldn’t have been more applicable to all of us. So meet the Easter Madness crew, we got Dilara from Turkey, Clara from France, Thordis from Iceland, Claudia from Tanzania and of course me from good old Netherlands. 5 girls, 1 car, 1 long 4 day weekend, Road Trip time!

And it was in one word: fantastic! I couldn’t have asked for a more perfect weekend or better company. Our roadtrip led us via the Entrance, watching Pelicans and strolling over sandbanks, to picturesque Port Stephens and Nelsons Bay, our final destination for this Easter.

With the absolute gorgeous beaches surrounding us, sunset barbecues and bonfires on the beach, we deemed ourselves in Paradise. Especially when at our hidden secret beach we discovered on the second day, suddenly dolphins popped up in the water within reaching distance. For a while we couldn’t do anything, but just stare at them. They were so close and so magnificent and gracious. Of course girls be girls and after the dolphins continued their journey and had swam off, the rocks and amazing landscape invited us to an extended photoshoot before we also continued our exploring journey to even more beautiful beaches.

Easter Sunday started quite exciting with sandboarding in Anna’s Bay and to my own amazement, I turned out to be even a bit of a sandboarding pro and gracefully with here and there a bite of sand we surfed down the sand dunes in the burning sun with the sea on one side and a dark green forest on the other. The rest of Easter was spent discovering the national park with as last stop ‘Wreck Beach’. Excited about the little hike to get there and the hidden gem that was awaiting I ended up running a bit ahead of the others and got emerged in the nature surrounding me, left alone in the quiet with only bird sounds surrounding me. But wait what was that, what did I just hear? In no time, all the different horror stories and newspaper headlines were popping up in my head: ‘Dutch girl kidnapped in New South Wales National Park’ and when I arrived at a crossroad and suddenly a man with cowboy hat and two scary looking dogs appeared out of nowhere I thought my nightmares had come true. When I realized he was just holding a beer, had a friendly smile, was minding his own business, I had to admit I might have been slightly overreacting and was a bit too stuck in my own thoughts. A couple minutes later the other girls joined me, the stranger and the two (in retrospect quite cute) dogs, on the deserted beach to watch a glorious sunset.

After morning coffee at the light house, driving up to a spectacular lookout and especially a lot of fun with the girls, the Easter Trip was way too soon coming to an end. But I couldn’t have asked for better company and friends to spend Easter with and I am so glad I met this amazing diverse group of people here in Sydney.

“Sun rising under my feet, these kids are out of here. They are my family”

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Vera

Actief sinds 05 Juli 2012
Verslag gelezen: 208
Totaal aantal bezoekers 26181

Voorgaande reizen:

09 November 2017 - 09 November 2020

PhD in Sydney

08 Juli 2012 - 16 Januari 2013

Minor in Melbourne

Landen bezocht: